Leaving the farm behind, on to North Carolina

We drove away,  Megan and I not speaking much, as our hearts were broken and there were not words to change a thing.  We went to Raleigh to stay temporarily with my second daughter and her family – hoping to figure out what to do next.  Valentine, Megan’s horse, was boarded near our lost farm until we could locate a place in North Carolina to take her.

I know some may wonder why I kept her horse.  I had given mine away, and had my own heartbreak.  My daughter, then 16, lost everything too – her home, her bedroom furniture, her security, and the only thing I could do for her was not make her lose her horse, too.  Perhaps what I chose was not the best idea, but it was all I could do for her. 

We made calls to see if it would be possible for us to put a single or double-wide on land that my oldest daughter’s husband owns, but the cost for the septic and well alone in the county and area they are in was over $12,000.  There was no way I could do this.  Our options with little money were few.

We were in Raleigh for less than 6 weeks when my second daughter’s family had to move for his job. So we all packed up and headed north of Charlotte two weeks before Christmas.  In February, I heard about job openings with the US Census.  I had worked for the 2000 census as a supervisor and trainer, so I called about it.  A week later I heard back from them and was told I would be notified when a training class was begun in the area.  Yes! 

We moved Valentine down to North Carolina, and waited for the next call.

The job did not begin until the middle of April.  After a week of training classes, many of the days were part time, only 3 or 4 hours.  By the beginning of June, I had worked a total of 34 part-time days.  And it was over. My second daughter’s family would be moving once again, to Alabama for his work.

So I called my oldest daughter and sent up a thousand dollars for them to get us a little camper.  With little money and nowhere else to go, we headed back up into Virginia to stay with her family.  071wuah

The photo is of our old truck pulling a small trailer with all we had left.  Our dog and cats were inside the camper shell. 

Leave a Reply

